How is a Jurisdiction's Housing Need Determined?

The State of California determines the number of homes that are needed for the Bay Area, consistent with state law. The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) then distributes a share to each local government in the nine (9) Bay Areas counties. Each jurisdiction is assigned a portion of the regional need at various income levels based on factors such as future population, access to jobs, and other factors. This assignment is known as the Regional Housing Need Allocation (RHNA) and is intended to promote the following objectives:

  • Increase the housing supply and the mix of housing types in an equitable manner

  • Promote infill development that encourages alternatives to solo driving and reduces greenhouse gas emissions

  • Balance jobs and housing

  • Discourage housing development patterns that segment communities

  • Affirmatively further fair housing

Each jurisdiction must ensure there is enough land with appropriate zoning to accommodate its RHNA allocation in its Housing Element.

Show All Answers

1. What Are the Components of a Housing Element?
2. How is a Jurisdiction's Housing Need Determined?
3. What are "zone changes"?
4. What is the Town of Atherton's RHNA Allocation for 2023-31?
5. Who came up with the number of units the Town must produce?
6. What is Builder’s Remedy?
7. What is the status of Builder’s Remedy proposals in Atherton?
8. What about Environmental Review?