Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee


  • As needed on the 4th Tuesday of every other month at 4 p.m.
  • Meetings are being held in hybrid format (In-Person & Remote)
  • 80 Fair Oaks Lane, Atherton, CA 94027 | Council Chambers 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View Archive of All Agendas

Minutes are available following approval.


The current members of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee are:

David Jones, Chair
Term: 6/2020-6/2024  

Steve Baloff
Term: 6/2021 - 6/2025

Raymond Juballa
Term: 1/2023 - 6/2023

City Council Liaisons:

Stacy Miles-Holland, Council Member
Rick DeGolia (Alternate)

Term Expires:  6/2026

Jerome Leugers
Term: 6/2019 - 6/2023


Act in an advisory capacity to:

a. Work with staff in providing advice and recommendations on all matters relating to bicycle and pedestrian facilities.
b. Make recommendations to the City Council on the selection of bicycle and pedestrian projects to be submitted for state and federal funding opportunities.
c. Promoting bicycling and walking as safe and healthy alternative modes of transportation.
d. Assist Town staff in the planning, operations and maintenance of bicycle and pedestrian facilities in the community.

Membership and Terms

Consists of at least five (5) members plus two non-voting liaisons, one (1) Transportation Committee Member and one (1) Council Member. At least three (3) members of the Committee must meet the requirements of the Metropolitan Transportation Committee and live or work in the Town of Atherton. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Committee shall be residents of the Town. The Committee shall be composed of both active bicyclists and pedestrians.

The term of office for BPAC members shall be four (4) years. Terms shall be staggered so that the term of office for three (3) members shall be four (4) years, and the term of office for the remaining members shall be four (4) years, starting at the mid-point of the staggered term.

The makeup of the Committee members is encouraged as follows:

• At least one member should represent schools
• At least one member should represent an established bicycle and/or pedestrian related organization or coalition
• At least one member should have knowledge and interest in Countywide pedestrian and bicycle facility planning and operations.

The Public Works Department is assigned overall responsibility of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee.

At the November, 2014 City Council meeting, Council confirmed priorities and accepted the Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan. The City Council budgeted $500,000 for FY 2014-15, and $530,000 over the following four years to implement projects in the Master Plan. The Town has also applied for Transportation Development Act (TDA) grants to fund design and construction of the Class III bike paths and improvements identified in the Master Plan at the Middlefield Road and Oak Grove Avenue intersection.

To continue to be eligible to apply for TDA Article 3 funds, the Town has to comply with Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Resolution #4108. The Resolution requires that the Town have a Bicycle Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) to review TDA projects to participate in the development and review of a comprehensive bike plan. The BPAC should be comprised of bicyclers and pedestrian groups and bicycle and pedestrian facility projects may be reviewed by the BPAC. The MTC Resolution requires at least 3 members who live or work in the Town and for those members to be appointed by the City Council.