Park & Recreation Committee


  • 6:30 p.m. on the First Wednesday of each month
  • 80 Fair Oaks Lane, Atherton, CA 94027 | Council Chambers  
  • Special meetings may be called by the committee chair

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View Archive of All Agendas

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Approved Minutes | View Archive of All Approved Minutes


The current members of the Parks and Recreation Committee are:

Noah Eisner                                Term: 7/2022 - 6/2024

Julianna Robertson
Term: 6/2023 - 6/2027

Alex Keh
Term: 6/2023 - 6/2027

Robert Roeser                              Term: 10/2022 - 06/2026

Patricia Kubal                               Term: 7/2022 - 6/2026

HP Park Foundation Appointees  

Frank Merrill             
Term: 6/2020 - 6/2024

Walter Robinson           
Term: 6/2023 - 6/2025

City Council Liaisons:
Rick DeGolia, Council member
Bill Widmer, Mayor (alternate)


The Public Works Department is assigned overall responsibility of the Park and Recreation Committee. The Park and Recreation Committee shall have the following powers and duties:

  • Act in an advisory capacity and make recommendations to the City Council upon request in all matters pertaining to parks and public recreation and to cooperate with other governmental agencies and public and private groups in the advancement of park and recreation planning and programming
  • Develop and maintain a master plan for parks within the town and, annually, in the month of April, present a report to the City Council
  • Review the annual budget for parks and recreation during the process of its preparation and make recommendations with respect thereto to the City Council. This includes recommendations regarding the setting of fees. The budget should contain estimates and recommendations for such long-term capital outlay projects as may be necessary to provide for orderly development of park and recreation areas, buildings, and facilities
  • Study and make recommendations on the acquisition and development of recreation areas, activities, and facilities, such as playgrounds, buildings, parks, open space, and other centers of recreation
  • Assist town staff in the planning of recreation programs for the community

Membership and Terms

Seven members are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the City Council. Of the appointed members, one shall be a representative of the Holbrook-Palmer Park Foundation and one shall be a representative of the Friends of Holbrook-Palmer Park (formerly the Atherton Dames). Members must be residents of the Town and generally serve terms of four years. No person shall be appointed to the Committee for more than two full consecutive terms. No compensation is awarded to members for their services.

The Committee shall annually select one of its members to act as a Chair and another to act as Vice Chair. The Public Works Department serves as secretary to the Committee. One Member of the City Council (and an alternate) is appointed as a liaison to the Committee.